Double Paned

29 Jan

The sun was slowly brightening up the sky, the trees desperate for some warmth after a long winter’s night. Despite the stillness one could tell it was really fucking cold outside. So cold it could freeze the nuts off a polar bear, well if they lived in this region anyway. Every few minutes a vehicle will slide by, most likely a frantic commuter already late for work after an extended stay in rush hour traffic on the skating rinks this city calls “roads”.

Glancing through the building across the small parking lot I see employees going about their day, on the phone, on the computer taking orders for coffins. I find it interesting working next to a company who builds coffins; one being that it is a smart business to get into since everybody dies and two the creepiness watching the hearse’s amble up to the loading dock. Glancing through another window of theirs I can see the storage area, shelves neatly lined with the most recently constructed death box anxiously awaiting its next occupant.

A chill shudders down my spine not from one of the grim reapers enterprise but from the draft slowly emanating from the poorly installed door. Another moment passes; I notice the silence seems to increase as does the bustling in the office. Quickly I turn to return to my desk and instantly feel the eyes upon me, all five pairs. They have me surrounded.

Five evil gnomes watching me work and for the first time the quaint song from Snow White doesn’t seem so cute anymore.

Side note: Whenever I see the hearses pull in this song ALWAYS pops into my head. Enjoy.

Daily Prompt

 

Edit: Here is the head gnome

Evil GnomeThe Big Kahuna

Evil Gnome
The Big Kahuna

10 Responses to “Double Paned”

  1. theloneshewolf January 29, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    I should have posted a photo of the gnomes… or at least one. Creepy little dudes!!
    Hind-sight 20/20.

    • twindaddy January 29, 2013 at 1:02 pm #

      Well done! Also, you can edit the post to add the pic you know.

      • theloneshewolf January 29, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

        DONE!

      • twindaddy January 29, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

        He does look a little suspect.

      • theloneshewolf January 29, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

        Shenanigans

  2. Not Quite Alice January 29, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    lol. That gnome would frighten me. Nightmares for weeks! Or maybe longer. Or not at all. I haven’t quite decided yet.

  3. determined34 January 29, 2013 at 8:38 pm #

    Love the gnome, he or she should enter the Gnome Convention next year :) Here is the link for this year’s Convention http://www.australiaday-glenbrook.org.au/

  4. Wiley Schmidt January 29, 2013 at 10:00 pm #

    Your honesty is valuable! Good for you love!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Daily Prompt: Through the Window.. .where is the Southern Cross? | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34 - January 29, 2013

    […] Double Paned « theloneshewolf […]

  2. I left my desk for a moment | theloneshewolf - February 22, 2013

    […] they added to their previous prank. I honestly love my job, and the dudes that work […]

Leave a message after the beep. BEEP!

Story Shack Magazine

Art. Short Stories. Free reading online.

Charming South

Living life with Southern Charm

The Daily Dilly Dally

No longer daily

Drinking Tips for Teens

Creative humour, satire and other bad ideas by Ross Murray, an author living in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, Canada. Is it truth or fiction? Only his hairdresser knows for sure.

not all about cats

"to err is human, to purr is feline"

Knocked Over By A Feather

Humor is the best medicine.

"Мусорка моей головы" - русскоязычный блог Алексея Марковича

Философия, Психология, Лингвистика, Меметика, Фотография, Сюрреализм, Абстракционизм

Psychobabble

I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

She Has

The Story of What a She Has...It's Mostly About the Boy Has, Max T

The View from a Drawbridge

The random musings of a bridgetender with entirely too much time on her hands.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

Blog of the imaginator

Flash fiction, poetry and random thoughts from the depths of my imagination.

33 Grams of Blog

Procrastinating, Kingdom Saving, and all other forms of Geekdom

I Won't Take It

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship

Queenie

I twist, I turn, I spin, I dance...

Purple Rosemary

Art Photography and Other Stuff

The Mercenary Researcher

It's all about the backstory

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

