12 Feb


Part of my namesake is attributed to Farley Mowat’s “Never Cry Wolf” and his she-wolf “Angeline.”  I was impacted by Angeline’s strength, fierceness, raw personality with notes of tender care and she has stuck with me ever since. {As a side note it is a book worth reading, I know I quite enjoyed it } Like, Angeline I have a “litter” of my own and as wolves do in family packs they will care for pups of others while out providing for their own.  I have times times of being a fearsome ferocious beast inside while emoting a state of calm combined with times of pure play well hidden under my skin.

As Mr. Mowat had written  “We have doomed the wolf not for what it is, but for what we deliberately and mistakenly perceive it to be — the mythological epitome of a savage, ruthless killer — which is, in reality, no more than the reflected image of ourself.”[1] This pretty much describes the misconception of me without being a killer, just an evil bitch.

Another part of it comes from being surrounded by people at all times and my permanent state of loneliness & solitude. I am involved in a relationship where we have a blended family of 2 sets of children; most of the kids are actually teens/ adults so the friction and turmoil within the relationship has been dynamic at best. There is so much within being in this situation that one cannot speak or say, over time this builds up to mental isolation. I am permanently on guard emotionally.  As a happy-go-lucky, heart-on-sleeve individual I was easily preyed upon, kids have a knack for spotting weakness and all I wanted was to have a good relationship with them and be a good step-mom instead of the evil step-mother as portrayed in literature/movies etc. I never knew how much I could be controlled and changed by people that I care about. I’ve been re-shaped & molded into something I don’t really recognize some days. There are times where I absolutely hate what I am because I have to agree or go alone with something I am totally against. It drives me crazy, batshit to put it bluntly. Also as a parent & step-parent within a family there are so many rules/regulations and so much is “just-don’t-fucking-go-there” not to mention the double standards held.

That entire loneliness bullshit aside I am hoping this will turn into a showcase of pure shitballs awesome, WTF moments, my own epic parenting fails and moments of pure humility created by someone who is kind of awesome with shit-storms of laughter and smiles all over the place.

I hope you start to like theloneshewolf just as much as I do, wild, untamed but mostly harmless.

In response to today’s Daily Prompt

[1] Copied from this Wikipedia article.


8 Responses to “Beastly”

  1. The Cutter February 12, 2013 at 10:25 am #

    I am contractually obligated to like any post with a Hitchhiker’s Guide reference.

  2. jaschmehl February 12, 2013 at 11:17 am #

    The step-relationship is so wacky! Just because we both love him, doesn’t mean we automatically love each other. Being an evil-step-daughter myself, I’m curious to read about the other side. (I still feel horrible about some of the nasty things I said/did to my step-mom!)

    • theloneshewolf February 12, 2013 at 11:22 am #

      It is the hardest relationship I have ever had. I do love his/our kids to bits, they just hate my guts.

      And they hate my kids guts.

      It’s been interesting to be political. LOL


  1. Daily Prompt – All About Me – The (Mostly True) Origin Story of TooFullToWrite | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish) - February 12, 2013

    […] © 63. Why Breathing Space? « Breathing Space 64. The Name Sums It Up « Now Writing Every Day 65. Beastly « theloneshewolf 66. All About Me | Ramblin’ On 67. Daily Prompt: All About Me | perennialwalk 68. Daily […]

  2. Daily Prompt: All About Me … The beginning of Lent | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34 - February 12, 2013

    […] Beastly « theloneshewolf […]

  3. Daily Prompt: All About Me | My.Vivid.Visions - February 13, 2013

    […] Beastly « theloneshewolf […]

  4. All About Me – What is BBT? | Beyond Beauty Tips - February 27, 2013

    […] Beastly « theloneshewolf […]

Leave a message after the beep. BEEP!

Story Shack Magazine

Art. Short Stories. Free reading online.

Charming South

Living life with Southern Charm

The Daily Dilly Dally

No longer daily

Drinking Tips for Teens

Creative humour, satire and other bad ideas by Ross Murray, an author living in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, Canada. Is it truth or fiction? Only his hairdresser knows for sure.

not all about cats

"to err is human, to purr is feline"

"Мусорка моей головы" - русскоязычный блог Алексея Марковича

Философия, Психология, Лингвистика, Меметика, Фотография, Сюрреализм, Абстракционизм


I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

She Has

The Story of What a She Has...It's Mostly About the Boy Has, Max T

The View from a Drawbridge

The random musings of a bridgetender with entirely too much time on her hands.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

Blog of the imaginator

Flash fiction, poetry and random thoughts from the depths of my imagination.

33 Grams of Blog

Procrastinating, Kingdom Saving, and all other forms of Geekdom

I Won't Take It

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship


I twist, I turn, I spin, I dance...

Purple Rosemary

Art Photography and Other Stuff

The Mercenary Researcher

It's all about the backstory


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

