Deep Thought

21 Feb

I have discovered one of the roots of utter stupidity and ignorance, the monster is known as “Spell Check.”


I remember being in grade 6 and thinking how lucky the younger kids were when the computers were upgraded to the new Microsoft Word, a red squiggly line appeared under a misspelled word and offered proper spellings. Spelling was one thing I knew I was proud of, that and my adult reading level in elementary school; it was one of the few things that gave me bragging rights on the playground. Secretly inside I was envious of all the kids in the computer lab getting their words corrected without picking up a dictionary and thumbing through it. AH Dictionaries!! The time spent looking up words like “sex” and “breast” to elicit giggles and crude stickmen pictures left for the next kid.


Time went on and there was grammar check with the green lines and now there are blue lines for the wrong context of a word in a sentence (ie: to, two & too), the next thing I know there is this thing called Google which I didn’t understand the power of until I was in my twenties and then I became a rampant Goolger. Next came Facebook, fast forward to present day & we enter the smart phone era. As this time passed I didn’t think about the repercussions of autocorrect and everything thereafter.


Being facebook friends with my kids and their friends I get the most ridiculous misspellings and phrases thrown at  me like this one taken from one of them; (this one is over 20 years old) “Chillin wit my homies, drunk as fuck whatyall doin probs nothing yall lame like mc dicks fries with no salt homo” or this gem “So wut happen to tha leve why wasnt they able to control this I know they live by lev that they keep on tellin me”  For good times I read these slow in a monotone voice out loud at the dinner table to emphasize how important it is to:

1. Learn how to read

2. Learn how to write

3. Learn how to speak

4. To finish school

5. Not to post stupid shit

6. Learn how to spell.

I can barely read and understand what the second one is saying. Anyhow what this boils down to is that something that was created to help the masses ended up crippling generations growing up afterwards. This is the generation that is supposed to be taking over when the rest of us are gone, how are we supposed to help them build their skills when the basics aren’t even there, without the current technology these kids can barely print, add, take instructions and so forth. I often wonder how they will manage at my current age.


This post brought to you by the Daily Prompt and the Letter S.

All photos from damnyouautocorrect

18 Responses to “Deep Thought”

  1. misselletea February 21, 2013 at 9:52 am #

    Ha ha ha! Good examples!

    • theloneshewolf February 21, 2013 at 10:43 am #

      I would have put up a screen shot but I need to keep the anonymity for everyone’s sake. There were worse but I couldn’t find them in a timely manner.

  2. The Cutter February 21, 2013 at 9:58 am #

    People COULD always actually review what they’ve written before hitting send. But I guess that would be too time consuming.

    • theloneshewolf February 21, 2013 at 10:41 am #

      Oh it totally is unless they are going for the comedy factor.

  3. twindaddy February 21, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Sadly, I don’t think it was autocorrect that made this kids stupid. They actually misspell things on purpose now because it looks “cooler.” We’re fucked when we’re seniors and the current generation is running things.

    • theloneshewolf February 21, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

      Sad I am considered a senior at 30 LOL It’s so true though!!!

      • twindaddy February 21, 2013 at 2:12 pm #

        I don’t mean we’re seniors NOW….

      • theloneshewolf February 21, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

        OOPS *facepalm*

        I totally misread that. I left my brain and reading skills at home today, they are probably still lazing about in bed together as I write this.

      • twindaddy February 21, 2013 at 2:15 pm #


      • theloneshewolf February 21, 2013 at 2:16 pm #


  4. mischievouseyez February 22, 2013 at 12:48 am #

    LOL! epic!


  1. Daily Prompt: Undo « Mama Bear Musings - February 21, 2013

    […] 22.Undo. | jaycee68 – 23. 24. […]

  2. 5 Things I Would UNinvent « Cheri Speak - February 21, 2013

    […] Deep Thought « theloneshewolf […]

  3. Chocolates, Anyone | The Jittery Goat - February 21, 2013

    […] Deep Thought « theloneshewolf […]

  4. There’s No Place To Hide, Get Lost, Scratch, Or Pick Anymore | The Jittery Goat - February 21, 2013

    […] Deep Thought « theloneshewolf […]

  5. Daily Prompt: Undo | Joe's Musings - February 23, 2013

    […] Deep Thought « theloneshewolf […]

  6. Daily Prompt – Undo – Rock & Roll It All the Way Back (An Online Mini-Musical) | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish) - February 25, 2013

    […] Musings 22. Undo. | jaycee68 23. Daily Prompt: Undo, Engines, Indeed. « Lines by Linda 24. Deep Thought « theloneshewolf 25. Daily Prompt: Undo « Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss 26. Daily Prompt: Undo | Daddy’s […]

  7. Daily Prompt – Undo OR The Right To Live | Beyond Beauty Tips - February 25, 2013

    […] Deep Thought « theloneshewolf […]

Leave a message after the beep. BEEP!

Story Shack Magazine

Art. Short Stories. Free reading online.

Charming South

Living life with Southern Charm

The Daily Dilly Dally

No longer daily

Drinking Tips for Teens

Creative humour, satire and other bad ideas by Ross Murray, an author living in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, Canada. Is it truth or fiction? Only his hairdresser knows for sure.

not all about cats

"to err is human, to purr is feline"

"Мусорка моей головы" - русскоязычный блог Алексея Марковича

Философия, Психология, Лингвистика, Меметика, Фотография, Сюрреализм, Абстракционизм


I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

She Has

The Story of What a She Has...It's Mostly About the Boy Has, Max T

The View from a Drawbridge

The random musings of a bridgetender with entirely too much time on her hands.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

Blog of the imaginator

Flash fiction, poetry and random thoughts from the depths of my imagination.

33 Grams of Blog

Procrastinating, Kingdom Saving, and all other forms of Geekdom

I Won't Take It

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship


I twist, I turn, I spin, I dance...

Purple Rosemary

Art Photography and Other Stuff

The Mercenary Researcher

It's all about the backstory


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

