Rags to Paper Bags

26 Feb

“Cinder-ellie, Cinder-ellie

Night and day it’s

Cinder-ellie, Cinder-ellie,

make the fire,

fix the breakfast,

wash the dishes,

do the moppin’”



Being both a mom and step-mom I feel like the evil step mother in Cinderella except not only am I the evil-step mother I am also Cinderella. I am sure most every parent feels that way, do all this work and little to no thanks but according to the philosophy of the locker room teens last night, as parents we signed up to be their slaves willingly. For as much shit as I have been through in the relationships in my life I really wanted to slap the taste from those kids’ mouths. I am sure each parent/family/individual goes through enough shit in life to not have to deal with snarky comments like that. Teens , I am SO GLAD I am not one of them anymore. Strangely I’ve been dealing with teens from 25 years old and I’ll be dealing with them until I am 50 years old, at which time my own grandkids will be spanning from 25 down to little sausages. LOL

Don’t get me wrong, I do adore all our kids, no matter what their parentage, to itty bitty bits and pieces but they all drive me/us crazy from time to time.


My life’s saving graces are finding a paperbag prince & living in our tiny palace on the hill, establishing a phenomenal career and knowing that I beat all the odds, statistics and forces against me. I know my happily ever after dream will be met on our wedding day (if I ever get around to finishing planning it).  Knowing I had a happily ever after before I even met my prince, I didn’t need him for my happily ever after he is just a great perk in a world of awesome, as are his kids (even with my evil-step-mother/Cinderella syndrome) and everything we have made together so far.

What could make it better? Well as probably a lot of people winning the lottery, having a pet narwhal or sheep or dinosaur, more vacation time, one less disease in the family, more William Shatner in the world, lawn pooping marathons and…..

….Uh….. World Peace?


This post brought to you by the daily prompt & the colour happy.




15 Responses to “Rags to Paper Bags”

  1. twindaddy February 26, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    It’s great that you’ve already found your “happily ever after.”

    • theloneshewolf February 26, 2013 at 1:46 pm #

      Yeah I have gone through this life ass-backwards. I suppose I forgot to look at the rules before I started this round.

      • twindaddy February 26, 2013 at 1:47 pm #

        Oh? There’s a rulebook? Share with the class please.

      • theloneshewolf February 26, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

        I had a kid before I graduated high school (I graduated, early.) then went to college, then my first car, then my career (see a trend happening yet) bought my first house, met the man of my dreams, we had grandkids before haiving kids of our own, had our kids… now we are getting married.

        Talk about Carriage, Driver then horses.


  2. djmatticus February 26, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

    More Shatner? Really? Well, who am I to disagree. ;-)
    Hooray for already having your happily ever after before you even met your prince charming – I think more people need to get on that train of thought – they need to be happy with who they are and where they are before they go in search of Mr. or Mrs. Right.

  3. t February 26, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    I would much prefer a pet wombat, you know, if your taking orders…

    • theloneshewolf February 27, 2013 at 8:46 am #

      Sure am ;)

      • t February 27, 2013 at 8:51 am #

        Awesome! Can it come with a Canadian flag sweater too, then?

      • theloneshewolf February 27, 2013 at 8:54 am #

        Absolutly! I’ll make sure it is in the best Canadian red I can find.

        Heck… I’ll send you some maple syrup too…

        And a variety pack of Canadian beer.

      • theloneshewolf February 27, 2013 at 8:54 am #

        mmmm beer

      • t February 27, 2013 at 9:09 am #

        Mmmm is right!


  1. Daily Prompt: Happily Ever After | Joe's Musings - February 26, 2013

    […] Rags to Paper Bags | theloneshewolf […]

  2. To Be Happily Ever After You Must Be Happily Ever Before. | The Jittery Goat - February 26, 2013

    […] Rags to Paper Bags | theloneshewolf […]

  3. Getting A Happy Ending – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur - February 26, 2013

    […] Rags to Paper Bags | theloneshewolf […]

Leave a message after the beep. BEEP!

Story Shack Magazine

Art. Short Stories. Free reading online.

Charming South

Living life with Southern Charm

The Daily Dilly Dally

No longer daily

Drinking Tips for Teens

Creative humour, satire and other bad ideas by Ross Murray, an author living in the Eastern Townships of Quebec, Canada. Is it truth or fiction? Only his hairdresser knows for sure.

not all about cats

"to err is human, to purr is feline"

"Мусорка моей головы" - русскоязычный блог Алексея Марковича

Философия, Психология, Лингвистика, Меметика, Фотография, Сюрреализм, Абстракционизм


I eat cheese, I run from zombies, and I do therapy

My Atheist Blog

Smile! It actually matters.

She Has

The Story of What a She Has...It's Mostly About the Boy Has, Max T

The View from a Drawbridge

The random musings of a bridgetender with entirely too much time on her hands.

Pouring My Art Out

Ripping out my guts for your entertainment

Blog of the imaginator

Flash fiction, poetry and random thoughts from the depths of my imagination.

33 Grams of Blog

Procrastinating, Kingdom Saving, and all other forms of Geekdom

I Won't Take It

Life After an Emotionally Abusive Relationship


I twist, I turn, I spin, I dance...

Purple Rosemary

Art Photography and Other Stuff

The Mercenary Researcher

It's all about the backstory


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

